Nobel in Physics goes to Three Japanese Scientists

Nobel prize in Physics 2008 has been awarded to three Physicists namely Yoichiro Nambu (who is Japanese born American) from Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago Chicago, IL, USA, Makoto Kobayashi from High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK) Tsukuba, Japan and Toshihide Maskawa from Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics (YITP), Kyoto University Kyoto, Japan.

Nambu will receive half of the prize "for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics" where as Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa will receive 1/4th each "for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature".

I would like to congratulate these great scientists for the prize.
For the official announcement click here.
And for the list of Nobel prize in Physics since 1901 click here.

Nobel prize in Chemistry will be announced tomorrow October 8th at 11.45 CET.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please type your comment in the box below.